Gentoo Logo

Gentoo Foundation Board of Trustees Election, August 2012

1.  Election


The purpose of this election is to choose two members for the Gentoo Foundation Board of Trustees. More information about their roles and duties can be found in the Gentoo Foundation Charter. Archives of the gentoo-nfp mailing list contain most recent information about progress of this election. If you have any questions or suggestions, please contact the election officials.

Officials running this election are Jorge Manuel B. S. Vicetto and Thomas Sachau. There's an opening for the 3rd official. The infrastructure contact for this election is Christian Ruppert.

You can contact officials via e-mail or visit #gentoo-trustees or #gentoo-elections on Freenode.

Time table

Four weeks for nominations and four weeks for voting:

  • Nominations: 2012-06-18 00:00 UTC to 2012-07-15 23:59 UTC
  • Voting 2012-07-17 00:00 UTC to 2012-08-13 23:59 UTC


We're pleased to present you the ranked list of all elected Gentoo Foundation Trustees:



  • Anyone may nominate
  • Nominations should happen on the gentoo-nfp mailing list
  • To run in the election, you have to accept your nomination on the same mailing list
  • Only people who were members of the Gentoo Foundation at the recording date (set to 2012-06-18 by Trustees) are eligible to run. Matthew Summers prepared the list of all eligible members.

Table of nominees:

Nominee Status Links
Alec Warner Accepted
David Abbott Accepted
Patrick Lauer Accepted
Roy Bamford Accepted
Brian Harring No response
Alex Legler Declined
Raúl Porcel Declined
Anthony G. Basile Declined
Jeremy Olexa Declined
Mike Gilbert Declined
Greg Kroah-Hartman Declined
Jorge Manuel B. S. Vicetto Declined
Sven Vermeulen Declined

If you think you see a mistake in this table, please contact the election officials.


People who are eligible to vote in this election are all current Gentoo Foundation members.

How do I cast my vote for this election?

After polls are open, Eligible current Gentoo developers should login to and run the following commands, in the order specified.

  • votify --new trustees-201206 - This creates a new ballot in your homedir.
  • Edit the .ballot-trustees-201206 file and rank the candidates.
  • Once you're sure, run votify --verify trustees-201206 to check the validity of the ballot.
  • If that goes through fine, the next and final step is to submit your vote using votify --submit trustees-201206
  • In case you're stuck, detailed help can be accessed by using votify --help or feel free to drop by #gentoo-elections on IRC. If you think you are eligible to vote, but cannot, please contact one of the officials.
  • Grab a beer, have fun, sit back and enjoy the show..till we announce the results ;)

The remaining Foundation members, should email their ballot to the election officials, signing the mail with their gpg key:



Page updated October 23, 2012

Summary: This page contains all the information about the upcoming election for the Gentoo Board of Trustees.

Jorge Manuel B. S. Vicetto

Thomas Sachau


Christian Ruppert
Infrastructure Contact

Donate to support our development efforts.

Copyright 2001-2015 Gentoo Foundation, Inc. Questions, Comments? Contact us.