Gentoo Logo

Gentoo Trustee Elections, February 2008

1.  Election


The purpose of this election was to choose five members to form the next Gentoo Foundation Board of Trustees. More information about their roles and duties can be found in the Gentoo Foundation Charter. Archives of the gentoo-nfp mailing list contain most recent information about elections progress. If you have any questions or suggestions, please contact the election officials.

Officials running this election were Łukasz Damentko, Jorge Manuel B. S. Vicetto and Richard Freeman. The infrastructure contact for this election was Shyam Mani.

Time table

  • Nominations: 2008-01-29 until 2008-02-12 (CLOSED)
  • Polls: 2008-02-14 until 2008-02-28 (CLOSED)
  • Term: starts on 2008-03-01


We're pleased to present you the ranked list of all elected Gentoo Foundation Trustees:

We published the master ballot file. This file contains all submitted ballots. Each of this ballots can be identified using a confirmation ID. Every person who voted in this election was mailed their ID by one of election officials. If you haven't received your ID, please contact one of election officials to provide you with that information. Using this ID and master ballot file people who voted can verify that their votes were included during counting votes.

We also published the full countify script output so you can check how the whole vote counting was done.

Election turnout

In this section we present data showing how many of eligible persons have voted in this election.

  • Total voters: 295
  • Submitted ballots: 107
  • Current turnout: 36%


Everybody could nominate one of eligible persons to run in the election. Nominees had to be a minimum of 18 years of age, they also had to be current Gentoo Foundation Members or active Gentoo Developers for at least a year before polls closing date. All nominations were sent to the gentoo-nfp mailing list. To run in the election, a nominated person had to accept his nomination on the same mailing list.

Now nominations are closed and people who were nominated and decided to run in the election are named in the following table:

Nominee Nickname Nominated by Date Status Links
William Thomson wltjr Steve Long 29 Jan 2008 Accepted wltjr's Trustee Election 2008 Manifesto
Roy Bamford NeddySeagoon Steve Long 29 Jan 2008 Accepted NeddySeagoon's Trustee Election 2008 Manifesto
Tom Gall tgall Brent Baude 29 Jan 2008 Accepted tgall's Trustee Election 2008 Manifesto
Patrick Lauer patrick Steve Long 30 Jan 2008 Accepted patrick's Trustee Election 2008 Manifesto
Joshua Jackson tsunam Paul Varner 30 Jan 2008 Accepted none
Jeffrey Gardner je_fro Chris Gianelloni 31 Jan 2008 Accepted je_fro's Trustee Election 2008 Manifesto
Ferris McCormick fmccor Roy Bamford 08 Feb 2008 Accepted fmccor's Trustee Election 2008 Manifesto
Jakub Moc jakub Patrick Lauer 03 Feb 2008 Accepted jakub's Trustee Election 2008 Manifesto

The following table presents people who were nominated but didn't agree to run in the elections.

Nominee Nickname Nominated by Date Status Links
Zac Medico zmedico Steve Long 29 Jan 2008 didn't reply none
Paul de Vrieze pauldv Steve Long 29 Jan 2008 didn't reply none
Seemant Kulleen seemant Steve Long 29 Jan 2008 didn't reply none
Renat Lumpau rl03 Steve Long 29 Jan 2008 didn't reply none
Steve Dibb beandog Christian Faulhammer 02 Feb 2008 didn't reply none
Kurt Lieber klieber William Thomson 29 Jan 2008 Declined none
Markus Ullmann jokey William Thomson 29 Jan 2008 Declined none
Daniel Robbins drobbins Andrew Zane 29 Jan 2008 Declined none
Daniel Drake dsd George Prowse 01 Feb 2008 Declined none
Ned Ludd solar Steve Long 29 Jan 2008 Declined none
Grant Goodyear g2boojom Steve Long 29 Jan 2008 Declined none
Alec Warner antarus William Thomson 29 Jan 2008 Declined none

If you think you see a mistake in any of this tables, please contact the election officials.


People who are eligible to vote in this election were:

  • Everybody who ever voted in a trustee election
  • Everybody who was a Gentoo Developer during last 365 days dated from the close of election poll.

We have prepared lists of all eligible current Gentoo Developers and all eligible Gentoo Foundation members. If you can't find your name on any of those lists and think you should be eligible to vote, please contact the election officials.

Those lists are still considered provisional. We are currently trying to complete them, which is problematic because some Gentoo Developers lack a join date in their LDAP record. If you are one of those people, please contact the election officials with your Gentoo join date.

How do I cast my vote for this election?

Eligible current Gentoo devs should login to and run the following commands, in the order specified.

  • votify --new trustees2008 - This creates a new ballot in your homedir.
  • Edit the .ballot-trustees2008 file and rank the candidates.
  • Once you're sure, run votify --verify trustees2008 to check the validity of the ballot.
  • If that goes through fine, the next and final step is to submit your vote using votify --submit trustees2008
  • In case you're stuck, detailed help can be accessed by using votify --help or feel free to drop by #gentoo-elections on IRC. If you think you are eligible to vote, but cannot, please contact one of the officials.
  • Grab a beer, have fun, sit back and enjoy the show..till we announce the results ;)

The remaining Foundation members (ex-devs), should email their ballot to the 3 election officials, signing the mail with their gpg key:


Page updated June 1, 2009

Summary: This page contains all the information about upcoming elections for the Gentoo Trustee Board.

Łukasz Damentko

Jorge Manuel B. S. Vicetto

Richard Freeman

Shyam Mani
Infrastructure Contact

Donate to support our development efforts.

Copyright 2001-2015 Gentoo Foundation, Inc. Questions, Comments? Contact us.